Conflicting Nickname

September 23, 2008 at 6:39 pm (General) (, , )

So, I was just browsing today and on a whim I decided to see if my common username would point to my site in a Google search.

The good news was that indeed this place was listed. The bad news was that I just discovered that there is a user nicknamed Shadowphoenix since 2002. Maybe I would let that go as such. But the main problem is that this person is also an amateur author like me (albeit he/she writes fanfiction while I’ve never dabbled in that), so I just couldn’t let it slide.

Regardless that the last entry/post of this person was more than a year ago, I decided, as a common courtesy since he/she is much older, to alter my nickname (unfortunately I cannot do so on the address).

Shadowphoenix has accompanied me over a lot of years and it means much to me. But I prefer to use this nick to represent something staying n the dark and being continuously reborn. So, I guess that ShroudPhoenix will be an adequate name to represent that.

Apologies to the ‘original’ person if he feels robbed of the nick…

Leave a comment